Governing Body

Our Governing Body reconstituted following the amalgamation of St James' Infant and St James' Junior schools.

The role of the Governing Body is to act collectively in the best interest of the children, ensuring the good conduct of the school and promoting high standards of educational achievement. In practice this means ensuring the school has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction, holding the school leaders to account for educational performance and overseeing the school’s financial performance.

St James’ C.E. Primary School reformed its governing body, following the merger of our schools at the end of August. The new governing body has 14 governors, of which one will be a member of staff, three will be parents, one will be a local authority representative, one will be the headteacher and the remaining eight will be foundation governors (include our vicar, Reverend Canon Jim Stewart).

Our current governors are as follows:

Reverand Canon Jim Stewart Chair of Governors (Foundation Governor)
Stephen Pollard Vice Chair of Governors (Local Authority Governor)
John Tutt Headteacher
Shane Jacob Staff Governor
Shaun Butcher Parent Governor
Catherine Palmer Parent Governor
Nicola Santaana Parent Governor
Matthew Atkinson Foundation Governor
Jess Austen Foundation Governor
Sally Chandler Foundation Governor
Lucy Downes Foundation Governor
Karen Dunn Foundation Governor
Susan Schibli Foundation Governor
Suzie Toombs Foundation Governor